Called to duty

11 10 2008

Well, that didn’t take long. I’m now going to be an inspector at Pleasanton Middle School. I’m really looking forward to doing this. Yes, getting up at 5 a.m. is going to be a pain, but once you get going it’s not that bad. Plus, it’s a general election, so there’s only one ballot to worry about. I took a great picture of the array of 28 different ballots we had to track for the June primaries — four languages for seven political parties, most of which went straight to the recycling bin.

I had training today, and there weren’t any big surprises. The main changes I noticed were that Alameda County scans the ballots at the polling location, so you have to keep track of a machine about the size of a portable dishwasher in addition to the touch screen machine that’s apparently pretty common around the SF bay area. Each precinct has a judge whose sole job is the setup, teardown, and maintenance of the voting equipment. And, there’s only one printer to keep track of instead of Santa Clara County’s three. But, other than that everything was pretty much the same. There’s something to be said for consistency.

We were also a much smaller group than in the training sessions I had in Santa Clara. That made it easier to ensure that everyone got to work with the equipment, which I find to be the best way to learn how to perform all of the steps.

Now I just need the ROV to send out my official letter.

Actions

Information




